Spaghetti with Oriental Hummus

Processed with RookieToday I was working from home. Which means no hassle in preparing my lunchbox in advance, but, at the same time, it also means that I have to think about something to eat as the clock strikes lunchtime.

I really love humous, and when I don’t do it on my own (lazy me) I buy the prepare version at the supermarket. Quite often though, the pack is too big to eat it all at once, and generally the shelf life of that kind of products once opened is just a few days. What to do then? Apart from eating it with the spoon as if it was yogurt – yes I admit it, it’s one of my many guilty pleasures – or use it as a dip for cruditées, how can you use humous?

I started my research as everybody does:

Screen Shot 2014-05-29 at 20.20.02

and one of the first results was an article from Bon Appétit Magazine, specifically about interesting ways to use it as an ingredient:

10 Things to Do with Hummus

The suggestion number 2 was really what suited me. I had some wholewheat spaghetti and a leftover of humous, et le voilà, my lunch was ready.

INGREDIENTS (serves 1)

  • 80g wholewheat spaghetti
  • 2 heap tablespoons of humous
  • 1 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoons of rice vinegar
  • 100ml chicken stock
  • 1 spring onion, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame seeds, toasted
  • 1 teaspoon of sesame oil

Ok, this is the original recipe. Unfortunately, I had to reinterpret it a little since I did not have rice vinegar and sesame oil (note to self, put them on the next shopping list), so I used dumpling vinegar instead of the rice one, and walnut oil instead of sesame. Not a good vinegar option I have to say, since flavour and texture are very similar to soy sauce. But the walnut oil was an adequate substitute of sesame, even if quite milder.

Photo 29-05-2014 13 16 32

So, the preparation is quite simple. Cook the spaghetti and in the meantime prepare the sauce by mixing the humous with the vinegar, the soy sauce and the stock. Mix well.

Toast the sesame seeds in a hot pan and slice the spring onion. Drain the spaghetti, add the sesame oil and toss in the sauce and the sesame seeds. Stir well and at last add the spring onion. Serve and enjoy!

Follow on Bloglovin

Comments

