Canned food, no no no or give it a go?

Canned food

With my current job, it happens quite often to get some freebies from different countries in the world like cereals, biscuits, chocolates and, as the title says, canned vegetables/fruit as well as prepared meals.

OK let’s point out, it’s not a matter of being lazy, it’s just that those quick and easy to prepare foods are appealing, and most of the times dangerously tasty. That said, I always had big fights with my dad because – living on his own since a while – he tends to rely on those products a bit too much. I’m not demonising them, but I think that, at least for canned meals, they have to be used with moderation.

With canned vegetables the story is a bit different. Living a modern and quite fast paced lifestyle, they are quite handy to quickly prepare meals without the hassle of cooking for a long time. I’m a big fan of canned beans, beetroots and green beans.

A few days ago, for example, I was a bit in a rush to prepare something for dinner since I arrived home from the office later than I was expecting and I had to go out shortly afterwards. This is the kind of moment I choose canned over fresh.

POTATO SALAD WITH TUNA AND GHERKINSPotato salad

Ingredients

  • 1 can of boiled potatoes (I had them already diced, but if you find the whole ones you can dice them yourselves)
  • 4 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1 can of tuna, drained
  • 4/5 medium sized pickled gherkins, diced
  • 1 pot plain Greek yogurt
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons of mustard
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

In a salad bowl, mix the potato dices with the spring onions, the gherkins and the tuna. In a smaller bowl, pour the yogurt, add the mustard and the parsley, squeeze the lemon half and season with salt and pepper. Add the oil and mix well. Pour the seasoning over the vegetables and toss to blend all together. Serve and enjoy.

As you can see, I think canned food can be helpful and is not a bad choice after all. What about you guys? Do you use them or loathe them?

Follow on Bloglovin

Comments

