Homemade ramen

Processed with Rookie

I absolutely adore Asian food. As many of you guys, all started with Chinese, but then, living in a big city as I did when I was in Milan, and way more now living in London, the range of possibilities spread wider as it could do in Europe (I guess, haha!). So I moved forward to Japanese, Korean and Thai, and being as well addicted to soups, I soon discovered the joys of ramen. There are still loads of places to try, but so far my favourite restaurant to have ramen is Wagamama. Their signature soup is simply delicious, so I really fancied to try a homemade version. Since I bought some ingredients, and I got others from work, here we are!

INGREDIENTS (serves 2)

  • 50g cooked ham, sliced into strips
  • 1 pouch of instant miso soup (or 2 if they are less concentrated)
  • 2 nests of rice noodles
  • 1 sheet Nori seaweed, roughly torn
  • 1 hard boiled egg, cut in half
  • 1 spring onion, sliced
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 400ml boiling water

Quickly fry the ham in the sesame oil, add the boiling water, squeeze in the pouch of miso soup, stir well and bring to the boil. Chuck in the noodles and let them cook according to the package instructions.

When the noodles are done, stir in the seaweed and set aside for a minute. Place one egg half in a bowl and scoop over the soup. Garnish with the spring onions, and serve with a drizzle of dark soy sauce. Oh, make sure you don’t forget the chopsticks!

Ramen 2Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

