Teo’s Veggie Magic Soup

Magic soup

The idea for this soup came from having a look at Pod’s spring menu. I know I’m a bit out of date with it, but I haven’t been in a Pod since ages, and that’s what I got the last time I was there. Haha! I also wanted to try cooking with kale, this mysterious superfood from the family of cabbage that is so hype nowadays.

I got a bag of prepared curly leaf kale last time I went to Morrisons, mostly because it was really cheap (only 99p!), but when I got home I faced the big question: “What I’m going to do with it now?”. Desperately seeking for inspiration, I remembered I had the Pod menu in my diary, so here we are.

INGREDIENTS (serves 3-4)

  • 1 large leek, shredded
  • 100g curly leaf kale, chopped
  • 100g mangetout peas, chopped
  • 500ml vegetable stock
  • 2 nests instant rice noodles
  • 4 tbsp sunflower and pumpkin seeds
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • smoked chilli fakes to taste

In a saucepan, quickly fry leek, kale and mangetout in the olive oil. Add the stock, bring to the boil then simmer until the vegetables are tender. Just before serving, add the noodles and let them cook in the soup according to the package instructions.

The original recipe required edamame beans – which I absolutely love – unfortunately though they’re not so easy to find in supermarkets, but I’m definitely going to find them and make this soup again!

Scoop the soup in the bowls, sprinkle with the seeds and grind some smoked chilli flakes on top.

Veggie Magic Soup 2

Enjoy!

Teo

One thought on “Teo’s Veggie Magic Soup

Comments

