Salmon and avocado noodles salad

Salmon avocado noodle

When I go grocery shopping, quite often a couple of avocado end up in my basket. I said on purpose a couple, because I always buy the ready to eat ones, which come – at least – in pairs. Unless I prepare a guacamole, or I use them for a recipe for me and my flatmates, inevitably one remains in the fruit basket. And most of the times it’s left there for days and it gets rotten.

That was the case today, I made some prawns, tomato and avocado wraps for my lunch, but obviously I used just one. And this time, I really didn’t want to chuck the other one in the bin. What to do then? I had to prepare my lunch for the office tomorrow, so I started checking the web for something nice. I also had one frozen salmon fillet and some spirulina noodles that I got from work, and I found this lovely recipe for salmon and avocado noodles salad on the Bon Appetit website, which I followed, but with my usual little tweaks.

INGREDIENTS (serves 2)

  • 120g Japanese noodles
  • 1 avocado, peeled, pitted, coarsely chopped
  • 200g salmon fillet
  • 60g spinach leaves
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp finely grated peeled fresh ginger
  • sea salt
  • 1 sesame oil

Heat the sesame oil in heavy medium nonstick pan over medium-high heat. Sprinkle salmon with sea salt and pepper and cook until ready. Transfer salmon to plate, cool slightly and flake it with a fork. In the same pan, add the spinach and fry until wilted and soft.

Whisk extra virgin olive oil, soy sauce, rice vinegar, honey and grated ginger in a small bowl. Season dressing to taste with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Cook noodles in large saucepan of boiling salted water according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Drain and transfer to bowl of ice water to stop the cooking. Drain well and transfer to large bowl, pour dressing over and toss well to coat.

Scoop the avocado out of its skin and chop it coarsely, add it to the noodles with the flaked salmon and the spinach, toss well to mix and serve.

Salmon avocado noodle 2

Enjoy!
Teo
Comments

