Pasta with mushrooms and caramelised onions

Pasta mushrooms caramelised onions

On Friday I got home after the usual drinks with my colleagues, and my flat mates were having a delicious plate of spaghetti with mushrooms and cream sauce. As you might be aware of, I’m on a diet. And it’s paying off quite well, I lost almost 6 kilograms so far, and I’m 4 away from my goal. But obviously, dieting implies no fatty sauces and no pasta as often as I used to eat it, but still, I had this desire of eating something nice. I keep pasta once a week, usually during the weekend because I like it fresh, and since I had some baby button mushrooms in the fridge, I thought I could use them as part of this gratifying dish.

I got the idea from a recipe I’ve seen (and pinned) on Pinterest. If you like to have a look at my pins, you’ll find my profile here.

INGREDIENTS (Serves 2)

  • 160g short pasta format (I used fusilli)
  • 150g baby button mushrooms, cleaned
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 clove garlic or 1 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 60ml white wine
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • fresh parsley

Slice the onion and place it in a pan with the olive oil and the garlic, and fry over medium heat for 5-6 minutes until soft. Slice the mushrooms and add them to the onion, and cook until tender and brown, approximately 8-10 minutes. In the meantime, cook the pasta according to pack instructions.

Pour the soy sauce and the wine over the mushrooms and keep cooking until the liquid has evaporated, adding salt and pepper to taste.

Drain the pasta and mix it with the mushrooms and onions, scatter some parsley on top and serve with a generous amount of grated Parmesan.

Pasta mushrooms caramelised onions 2

Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

