Summery Sunday treat. Gazpacho!

Gazpacho 1

I fell in love with this traditional Spanish cold soup last year when I was on holiday in Torrevieja with Tom. Obviously, going back to the cold weather of London (although it was the beginning of September), I kept the craving hidden in my mind waiting for the temperatures to raise and the sun to set way later in the day.

Aided by the fact that on Easter Sunday some friends of mine kindly gave me their spare blender, I started walking down the path of smoothies for breakfast, but, the tiny Spanish thought of gazpacho started to show himself off more and more predominantly. So last night, I was alone at home, and browsing the fridge to find something nice for dinner, I realised I had all the ingredients to prepare this nice and refreshing appetiser. To be honest, it wasn’t the typical hot and sunny day where you desire something like that, but I gave it a go anyway!

INGREDIENTS (serves 2 as a starter or 1 as a main)

  • 2 big ripened tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cucumber, roughly sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, coarsely chopped
  • a handful frozen sliced peppers
  • 1 clove garlic or 1 heaped tsp garlic purée
  • salt, pepper, parsley to taste
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • smoked chilli pepper (optional, but it gives an interesting punch!)

The ingredients list is longer than the prep itself! Simply put everything in the blender and give it a good whizz until you get a smooth texture! If you don’t serve it immediately, transfer the soup in a bowl and keep it in the fridge. Otherwise, pour it in small bowls (if you serve it as an appetiser) or in a large one (if you’re greedy and have it all by yourself) and enjoy!

I think I made a little mistake, but it’s allowed being the first attempt. I used the frozen peppers because they feature three different colours (although you won’t see them when everything is blended), but I guess they should be thawed before use, unless you like a slushie kind of texture… Keep it in mind for the next time!

Gazpacho 2

Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

