Black bean hummus

Black Bean Hummus

On Sunday, before I created that lovely updated version of the rocket pesto I published on my Facebook page (if you haven’t checked it already, go IMMEDIATELY and have a look, and obviously like the page as well! 😉 *silent thank you*) I ran through the pantry, fridge and freezer to have a list of what’s available for cooking. I don’t do it on a regular basis – I’m too lazy for that – but sometimes it happens that I keep on buying stuff I already have, or worse, I’m sure I still have that item and then I get back home and surprise! it’s not there.

To cut a long story short, turns out that I still have a can of black beans I got a few months ago, sitting in grief at the back of my shelf thinking “when are you going to use me, and how?“. Since I’m not in the mood for Mexican in these days and I think they would be wasted in a mixed salad, I had to come with something interesting up. And yesterday evening, while on the bus home, I got the revelation. I love hummus, why not trying to prepare it with something different?

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp tahini paste
  • salt, pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Drain the beans well from their preservation liquid, and put them in a blender (or in a jar, if you’re using a hand blender). Reserve one tablespoon for garnishing. Squeeze the lemon and pour the juice over the beans, add garlic clove, tahini, salt, pepper and parsley. Whiz everything until you get a creamy texture, taste and see if the seasoning needs to be adjusted.

Usually, beans are wetter and softer than chickpeas, that’s why I pointed out creamy texture. Don’t expect to obtain a paste with beans, but I think that’s another unconventional feature of this dip.

Pour the hummus in a bowl, garnish with the beans you kept away, scatter some parsley on top and drizzle with the olive oil. Serve it with cruditées and crispbread as an appetiser or spread it in sandwiches and wraps instead of the usual hummus.

Black Bean Hummus 2

Enjoy!

Teo

3 thoughts on “Black bean hummus

      1. Spot on. And that’s something a lot of people commit blasphemy against. You have to see the pizza Lebanese shops and common bakeries make.

        Like

Comments

