Sundried tomato pastries

Sundried tomato pastries

Last Thursday I invited a couple of friends for dinner. Surprisingly (no, not really) I started cooking at 4 o’clock in the afternoon, and I haven’t prepared anything too complicated, haha! Well, since I’m quite famous as a good cook among my friends, I wanted to delight them with something nice, and I generally don’t do dinners with just one course!

I got some nice mixed appetisers from Lidl (last week was Italian week so there was plenty of Italiamo brand items) like cheese stuffed button mushrooms, peppers and olives, and I bought a little tray of Italian cold cuts from Sainsbury’s. But I also wanted something home made as an appetisers. And puff pastry was missing from my menus since a while. So there you go!

INGREDIENTS (makes 6)

  • 1 pack rolled puff pastry
  • 50g sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 50g grilled courgettes, chopped
  • 50g feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1 egg, beaten

Pre heat the oven at 180°C fan. Roll the puff pastry and let it get to room temperature.

In a bowl, mix cheese and vegetables. You won’t need any other seasoning (maybe some chilli pepper if you want them spicy) since the tomatoes and the feta cheese are already salted enough. I used tomatoes and courgettes in sunflower oil, so neither oil was required.

Cut the puff pastry into six squares, spoon some mixture in the middle and fold them into triangles. To seal the rims, you can swipe your wet finger around the border prior to folding and then press down with a fork. I also rolled over the edges since they were a bit too wide.

Place the pastries on a baking tray lined with grease proof paper and brush them generously with the beaten egg. Bake for 40 minutes until the pastry is flaky and the surface is golden. Personally I like to brush pastries twice while baking, the second time 10 minutes before taking them out of the oven.

When they’re ready, cool down for 5-10 minutes and then serve.

sundried tomato pastries 2

Enjoy!

Teo

4 thoughts on “Sundried tomato pastries

Comments

