Millet bakes with roasted vegetables and feta cheese

Millet Bakes with Roasted Vegetables & Feta Cheese

Leftovers, leftovers, leftovers. Oh I do love them (you should know by now!). Combine them with a good dose of lack of inspiration and voilà, here you are the new recipe for the blog!

How bad can I be? Haha! I dedicated myself a lot to salads lately, as you saw in my last post, but one that stands out from the others is good, too many will turn Come dine with Teo in Come have a salad with Teo, and that isn’t my purpose to be honest.

So leftovers, we said. I had less than a serving of Morrisons frozen Roasted vegetables, a little piece of feta cheese, and some golden millet. My first idea was to prepare an alternative version of couscous, but then I thought, since I’m already baking the vegetables, why not keeping the oven on and make some bakes out of it? And eventually, this put-together turned out to be quite good!

INGREDIENTS (for 2 bakes)

  • 150g roasted vegetables (frozen or DIY, I had peppers, courgettes, potatoes, onions and tomatoes)
  • 100g golden millet
  • 30g feta cheese, crumbled
  • herbs, spices and salt to taste
  • extra virgin olive oil

Not so many ingredients even this time eh? Let’s start with turning on the oven at 200°C fan. Spread the vegetables onto a baking tray, season them to taste and bake for approximately 20 minutes.

In the meantime, cook the millet according to the packet instructions. I had to wash it under running cold water (in a sieve) and then boil it in double the amount of water, for approximately 15 minutes. There will be no need to drain – at least that’s what happened to me – so just take the saucepan off the stove, season with salt, pepper and herbs to taste and drizzle with a little bit of olive oil.

Line another tray with some non-stick baking paper, and using metal rings (remember the ones I used for these potato bakes more than a year ago?) tip some of the millet and create a base, which you will top with a layer of feta cheese and one of roasted vegetables. Scatter the remaining feta on top, drizzle with just a little olive oil, and bake at 200°C fan for 10 minutes. Let the bakes cool down for a few minutes before removing the rings and serve.

Millet bakes 2

Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

