Crabstick quinoa salad

Crabstick quinoa salad

Last Saturday was the hottest day of August. 30 degrees, sun shining… It almost felt like it was summer for real! (*disappointed ironic comment*)

After finishing the usual weekend chores – namely giving the house a good scrub – I decided to have a light lunch, also because I was invited to a wedding reception in the evening and I wanted to keep some room in my belly for all the good food I was expecting to find.

So I opened the fridge and had a look at what was available. I still had half of the batch of red quinoa prepared last week, some peas I thawed on Thursday for my lunch the next day and a pack of crab sticks. Add a few other things and voilà, lunch was served.

INGREDIENTS (serves 2)

  • 80g boiled quinoa
  • 50g thawed peas
  • 6 crab sticks, chopped
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 30g feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/5 cucumber, diced

Basically all you need to do is mix everything in a bowl. Obviously all needs to be dressed properly, so I thought of a zesty lemon and whole grain mustard dressing. With the amounts provided you’ll get double the amount needed, so you can either save it for another salad, or add some more to this if you fancy it.

  • 2 heaped tbsp whole grain mustard 
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt, pepper, dried parsley (or fresh, if you have it)

Tip all the ingredients in a small jar, close it tightly and give it a vigorous shake. Pour the dressing over the salad, toss it and serve.

Crabstick quinoa salad 2

Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

