Raw Brussels sprouts salad

Brussels sprout salad

A few weeks ago, while scrolling through my Reader feed here on WordPress, an article by Chef Mimi really caught my attention. Her description (and amazing pictures) of her Chopped Brussels Sprouts Salad really inspired me. Thanks Mimi! 🙂

For one reason or the other, the past couple of weeks have been too busy to do some proper grocery shopping including those little stinky gems. Haha, well, not in a rude way, but since they belong to the cabbage family, you’ll agree with me that they get quite stinky when you cook them! Last week though, being on holiday, I took my time to go to the supermarket in the morning, without the need to rush through the aisles and get to the tills as fast as I could (as I usually do when I go during the weekend… hate queuing for ages!).

As much as I like Brussels sprouts, the way I generally eat them is steamed (or boiled) and seasoned with lemon juice and olive oil. Or, if a creative spark hits me, I sautée them quickly with some olive oil and serve them with grated Parmesan cheese. But that’s it. So the idea of having them in a salad was very much appealing. I didn’t want to cook them though. I had a look online for some inspiration and I found it in this recipe from Love & Lemons: Shredded Brussels Sprouts & Apple Salad.

INGREDIENTS (serves 1)

  • 6 Brussels sprouts, finely sliced
  • 1/4 green apple, finely sliced
  • 30g cheddar cheese, roughly chopped
  • 2 tbsp sunflower and pumpkin seeds
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt, pepper to taste

I used an adjustable slicer to slice the sprouts since I wanted them really really thin. I’m not sure the knife is the best option for this task, considering that raw sprouts are quite hard and the risk of cutting your hands is too high. It can be used for the apple though, as the slices should be thicker.

Simply mix the ingredients in a plate, season with salt and pepper, drizzle the lemon juice and the oil and toss gently.

Sprouts salad

Enjoy!

Teo

5 thoughts on “Raw Brussels sprouts salad

Comments

