September Highlights

Sep HighlightsGod I’m so bad!!! I haven’t posted in ages (and I haven’t cooked in ages either!), and my scheduling goal was achieved just for a few weeks. Now you can tell that I’m bad! I’m also late for the September highlights, but here we are to get you up to speed.

Mid-September I’ve been away for a few days, I went back to Milan for a wedding of a friend of mine. We met many (!) years ago through a common friend during the second year of uni and we’ve been friends ever since… geez it still seems yesterday!

For the reception, the newlyweds chose this beautiful restaurant in Arona, on a hill facing the beautiful Lake Maggiore. It took us a little while to get there from Milan, but it was worth it even just for the view. And it was also cool to catch up with friends I haven’t seen in a while while driving there.

The lunch was simple but very flavourful. We started with a light aperitif on the terrace of the restaurant with little nibbles and loads of spritz and prosecco (obviously), then we moved in to start dining. The best dishes in my opinion were the two mains.

First we had Carnaroli Rice with Berlucchi Wine, Lemon & Rosemary. I loved the zing of it, the flavours of lemon and rosemary perfectly blended with the aroma of Berlucchi wine and the right level of creaminess. Fabulous! I’m going to try it at home really soon (although I’ll probably use a cheaper wine than Berlucchi…).

Carnaroli riceAs second main we had Paccheri Pasta with Vegetable Bronoise and Lakefish Ragout. The pasta was perfectly cooked al dente, the vegetables were juicy and the fish was tender and moist.

Paccheri pastaWe all had a big question though… what’s a bronoise (or more correctly, brunoise)? So I made a quick research online and that’s what I found (thanks Cooksinfo for the explanation):

Brunoise is a French cooking term meaning to cut a vegetable into small cubes of precise and uniform measurement.

It is generally used in French cuisine for decoration, and the vegetables – carrots, celery, leeks, onion, potatoes, tomato and turnip – need to be quickly blanched in salted water and then cooled down in a bowl of iced water to retain the colour. Well that’s a new thing I’ve learned!

On the plan there was also a visit to the Expo exhibition, but time was too short so I didn’t manage to go. What I discovered though, is that a World’s Recipe book is available online, and everyone can contributed and be featured on it! I’m still thinking whate recipe I should submit… do you have any favourite you think I should send?

It seems this is Brussels sprouts season! Correct me if I’m wrong, but I found so many new recipes online using this ingredient that I started to think it’s a trendin topic lately! As with other vegetables of the cabbage family, I think you either love or hate them. I’ve never been a massive fan of Brassicaceae – especially when I was a kid – but growing up I started liking almost every variety, although I still have some issues with cauliflower. Anyway, following the vibe, I’m going to post another dish with Brussels sprouts really soon!

The last two weeks have been uber-busy. I started a new dance class on Wednesdays, I had friends visiting from Milan last weekend and – drumrolls please – I started flat hunting with my boyfriend! I was busy literally every evening after work… it’s two weeks since I went grocery shopping last time! How bad am I? No wonder I haven’t been cooking at all… I didn’t have time to!

Anyway, I apologise again for my absence, and I promise I’ll do my best to keep these pages alive even if I’ll have just little time to spend in the kitchen.

Teo

Comments

