Purple sprouting broccoli, poached eggs & lemon – anchovy dressing

Purple sprouting broccoli & poached eggsThis is not a dish for the light hearted. The flavours are bold and strong, citrussy zings and salty and fishy punches. But it’s really easy to make and – in my modest opinion – it’s worth giving it a try.

Nice description, huh? I guess my cook books and magazines readings are having a good effect on my writing! Especially because my first thought about it was “this is a dish you can prepare in 10 minutes if you don’t have much at home but you would still like to makeĀ something effective for your food blog“. Which is exactly how this recipe was born, ha!

My skills in making poached eggs have had a boost recently, I’m perfecting my ability to not spread out the albumen as well as the eye to see when they are perfectly cooked, but still with a runny yolk. Add a base of vegetables, such as those long purple sprouting broccoli, but also asparagus or grilled leeks, and a strong dressing and dinner is served.

INGREDIENTS (serves 1)

  • 300g purple sprouting broccoli
  • 2 eggs
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 3-4 anchovies in olive oil, drained
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • freshly ground pepper to taste

Basically all you need to do is poach the eggs the way you prefer, personally I rely on the swirling method that I described in my first post about poached eggs, and boil or steam the broccoli.

To prepare the dressing, I suggest you to use mortar and pestle. If you don’t have it, a food processor is fine anyway, although by doing it by hand you can work on the texture a little bit more. Tip the lemon juice in the mortar, add the anchovies and work them until they break up. Spoon in the olive oil, add the pepper and give it a good stir.

Place the broccoli on the plate, top with the eggs and drizzle over the dressing. Serve with crusty wholegrain bread.

Purple sprouting broccoli & poached eggs 2

Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

