Crispbread with spinach, cream cheese & prawns

Crispbread spinach cream cheese prawns

I already see your face… Crispbread? Are you mad? Why posting a recipe about crispbread? Well, I took inspiration from this post from The Kitchn about 10 Easy Ways to Turn a Wasa Cracker into Lunch. Their suggestions on how to top these crunchy slices are amazing, you should definitely check them out!

The other day I (eventually) managed to go to the supermarket and refill my fridge, but, as usual, the bag of baby spinach was too big to fit in. What to do then? Cook them for lunch the next day… paired with? I admit I panicked a bit. It’s always like that when I have fridge and pantry full. I have so many things that I don’t know what to do.

After 10 minutes lost looking at the various possibilities, I decided to go to bed and see what could inspire me the next morning. Generally this is a very bad move, because most of the times I rush through my morning routine just to stay in bed 5 minutes longer. And the other morning wasn’t an exception. So, after shower and breakfast, I opened the fridge and took out the first things that were on hand, namely cream cheese and a tub of cooked fresh water prawns. Oh, and a lemon. I remembered I still had some crispbreads at the office, and the post I read stroke my mind.

I have the basic seasoning staples in my locker at the office, so there was no need to prepare a dressing for the prawns at home. Although, I think seasoning them in advance (the night before) makes them more flavourful. But it’s up to you really.

INGREDIENTS (makes 3 crispbreads)

  • 250g baby spinach, washed
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 180g cooked fresh water prawns
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • Drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 heaped tablespoons plain cream cheese
  • 3 crispbreads, plain, whole grain, sesame… Any works well

The only cooking part to be done in advance is wilting the spinach. In a saucepan, heat the oil with the clove of garlic. It can be left whole, cut in half, sliced or finely chopped, as you like it according to your taste. Tip the spinach and wilt for a few minutes until most of the water has evaporated. Add a pinch of salt to ease the process unless you want to retain some crunch, especially on the stalks.

As I said, the seasoning do the prawns can be done just before serving or in advance. Drain them from the brine (or thaw them for a couple of minutes in a bowl of boiled water if they are frozen), season with salt and pepper, pour the lemon juice and drizzle with the olive oil. Stir well. The ones I’ve got come in a convenient reclosable (and leak proof) tub, so even if you’ll take them to work the next day, there won’t be any smelly leakage in your bag/briefcase/backpack. And it’s also good to keep them infusing in the fridge overnight.

Now we get to the assembly moment, which means it’s lunchtime!!! Yay! Spread the cream cheese on the crispbreads, top them with the spinach (if you keep them in the fridge while you’re at work, I suggest you to hear them up briefly in a microwave), and scatter the prawns over. For extra juiciness, drizzle some of the dressing on top.

Crispbread spinach cream cheese prawns 2

When I prepared them at work, some of my colleagues were genuinely impressed! 🙂

Do you have favourite crispbread toppings?

Enjoy!

Teo

Comments

