Lift your cheeseboard with a homemade caramelised onion chutney

It’s easier than it sounds. Yes, it’s quicker to open a jar of a store-bought chutney, but the pleasure of make your own is worth the – very little – effort you have to put in it. Satisfaction guaranteed.

What's best to accompany a delicious cheeseboard? A homemade chutney is the answer to the question. Ready in a few simple steps, it will definitely enhance the flavour of any cheese.

If you are like me, you love a good cheeseboard. And if you follow me on Pinterest, you might have noticed that some time ago I pinned quite a few images of cheeseboards. Preparing them appropriately it’s definitely something I’d like to learn, for myself and for my guests, of course.

Apart from cheese selections and fruit pairings, a good cheeseboard always comes with a nice chutney to enhance and complement the flavours of the cheeses. One of my favourites it’s definitely Morrison’s Tomato Chutney, followed by their Caramelised Onion one.

So one day, with a bag of red onions at hand, I decided to try and make my own chutney. There is only some chopping and some measuring involved, then the gentle heat will do the job.

Ingredients (makes a small jar)
  • 4 red onions, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 50g brown sugar
  • 50ml red wine vinegar
  • 50ml balsamic vinegar
  • pinch of salt
Method

In a saucepan, tip the onions and the bay leaves. Drizzle with the olive oil and cook over medium heat until the onions are translucent.

Lower the flame to a gentle simmer, and add the sugar and the vinegars. Cover, and cook until caramelised. It should take approximately 30 minutes. Let cool before pouring in a sterilised jar. Keep in the fridge for a maximum of 2 weeks (but it didn’t lat that long at home!).

Let cool before pouring in a sterilised jar. Keep in the fridge for a maximum of 2 weeks (but it didn't lat that long at home!).

Now, there is a tip. I didn’t add any liquid (water) to the onions, so I ended up with a very sticky chutney. I feel a splash of water here and there is advisable to keep the chutney moist and easy to pour. I haven’t tried yet, but I am sure this would be helpful.

So as I said, that’s it! Easy peasy! I’m surely going to try other chutneys in the future, but as first experiment, I have to say it went pretty well!

How about you? Do you do our chutneys at home? Let me know in the comments below!

I hope you enjoyed this recipe!

See you next time!

Teo

2 thoughts on “Lift your cheeseboard with a homemade caramelised onion chutney

    1. I agree! I started appreciating chutneys when I moved to the UK. In Italy we have something similar, but we call them jams. I’ve always been a fan of onion jam, so it was natural for me to pass the love on to onion chutney! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

